IDHBA National Awards

Since 2009, the Irish Draught Horse Breeders Association has run an annual awards night and dinner dance. Branches take it in turns to host this event, which is a wonderful celebration of the Irish Draught Horse, its breeders and its producers. Click on the links below to find out about previous award winners.

2009 - Westport, Co. Mayo

2010 - Abbeyleix, Co. Laois

2011 - Rosscarbery, Co. Cork

2012 - Carrick-on-Shannon, Co. Leitrim

2013 - Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

2014 - Armagh

2015 - Kilkenny

2016 - Rosscarbery, Co. Cork

2017 - Wicklow

2018 - Athlone


Athlone Show national Hall of Fame Awards

Each year, Athlone Agricultural Show Society invite Breed Societies from the Equine, Bovine and Ovine worlds to put forward nominees to be inducted to the Hall of Fame. These awards are presented at a gala evening held each May in Athlone. Since our formation, the IDHBA has put forward a nominee each year. Click on the links below to find out about the previous recipients.

2009 - Eddie Murphy

2010 - Timmy Sullivan

2011 - Roy Butler

2012 - John Allen

2013 - Micheál Casey

2014 - Edwin McLoughlin

2015 - Michael Swords

2016 - David Cosby

2017 - Kitty Cotter

2018 - Padraig Fitzpatrick